

INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION FOR TROPICAL MEDICINE - IFTM -

General Assembly Meeting – Tuesday 25 September 2012

Location: Room Agata, Royal Tulip Hotel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, at the occasion of the XVIII International Congress of Tropical Medicine and Malaria (23-27 September 2012)

1.- Opening

The meeting opens at 18h 50'.

2.- Brief introduction of chair members

Present:

C.T. Daniel-Ribeiro (Brazil), Vice-President and President Elect of IFTM

S. Mas-Coma (Spain), Treasurer of IFTM

J.Y. Chai (South Korea), Secretary General of IFTM

3.- Apologies for absence

Excused: C.T. Daniel-Ribeiro excuses the absence of the IFTM President, P. Ambroise-Thomas (France), due to unexpected illness.

4.- Introduction of attendees

The national societies of the following countries and international federations were represented by their respective delegates (personal signatures and email addresses were collected):

- Angola (F. Cortes)
- Australia (M. Good, Ch. Willis, M. Jones)
- Argentina (R. Mera y Sierra)
- Brazil (C.H. Nery Costa, A. Luquetti, J. Rogrigues Coura)
- Colombia (I. Dario Velez, F. Guhl)
- Czech Republic (F. Stejskal)
- Ecuador (E. Montalvo)
- France (J. Delmont)
- Italy (Z. Bisoffi)
- Japan (S. Kano)
- Mali (O.K. Doumbo)
- Peru (E. Gotuzzo)
- Portugal (J. Seixas)
- South Korea (S.J. Hong)
- Southeast Asian Ministries of education Organization SEAMEO (S. Krudsood)
- Spain (J. Muñoz)

- Switzerland (F. Chappuis)
- Thailand (J. Waikagul, S. Khusmith)
- United Kingdom (J.R. Stothard)
- USA (P.J. Hotez)
- Venezuela (O. Noya)
- European Federation of Tropical Medicine and International Health EFTMIH (Z. Bisoffi)
- Federación Latinoamericana de Parasitologia FLAP (E. Montalvo)
- European Federation of Parasitologists EFP (J. Dupouy-Camet)

5.- Acceptance of the agenda

C.T. Daniel-Ribeiro presents the meeting agenda, including (a) general report of present IFTM situation, (b) election of the members for the new Executive Board of the IFTM for the period 2012-2016, and (c) election of the country and city for the organization of the next XIX International Congress of Tropical Medicine and Malaria in 2016. The agenda is approved.

6.- Report of present IFTM situation

The IFTM Vice-President and President Elect C.T. Daniel-Ribeiro analyzes the activities developed by the IFTM Board during the 2008-2012 period after the XVII International Congress of Tropical Medicine and Malaria held in Jeju Island, South Korea, in 2008, including the need for more diffusion and interaction between the IFTM and the national member societies, and emphasizing the priority to update the member societies list. He finishes by shortly referring to the successful organization of the present XVIII International Congress for Tropical Medicine and Malaria in Rio de Janeiro thanks to the collaboration of the members of the Brazilian Society of Tropical Medicine and of many foreign scientists having accepted to carry out different kind of contributions, among which the members of the IFTM Board.

7.- Election of the members for the new IFTM Executive Board

C.T. Daniel-Ribeiro coordinates this point of the agenda. He first analyzes the composition of the Board, in which the following changes are proposed for the next four-year period of 2012-2016:

- P. Ambroise-T. (France), from the position of President to that of Past-President;
- C.T. Daniel-Ribeiro (Brazil), from Vice-President and President Elect to President;
- S. Mas-Coma (Spain), from Treasurer to Vice-President and President Elect;
- J.Y. Chai (South Korea), from Secretary General to Treasurer;
- F. Fortes (Angola), to become the new Secretary General.
- An additional sixth member for the Board will be elected among the members of the member society which is going to win the organization of the IFTMM Congres of 2016.
- E. Gotuzzo (Peru) finishes his mandate after his last period as Past-President and his contributions are acknowledged.

With regard to the Expanded Board, C.T. Daniel-Ribeiro first acknowledges the contributions during the 2008-2012 period by the five members who finish their mandate: T. Takeuchi (Japan), J. Torres (Venezuela), J.G. Breman (USA), G.V. Hillyer (USA) and M. Tanner (Switzerland).

The proposal is presented to enlarge the Expanded Board with three additional members to have a better representation from the different continents. The following new eight members are proposed for the Expanded Board:

- Z. Bisoffi (Italy)
- V. Do Rosario (Portugal)
- O. Doumbo (Mali)
- S. Herrera (Colombia)
- P.J. Hotez (USA)
- S. Kano (Japan)
- S. Khusmith (Thailand)
- X.N. Zhou (China)

The proposal is unanimously accepted.

Professor Shigeyuki Kano asked to be included in the Expanded Board and his name is also accepted.

8.- Election of country and city for the organization of the next XIX IFTMM Congress in 2016

S. Mas-Coma coordinates this point of the agenda. Two countries have kept their bid until the last moment and note to be ready for the presentation of their candidature, namely Australia and Thailand. Given that the bid of Thailand is more recent than the one of Australia, the proposal to have Thailand's presentation first is accepted. A maximum of ten minutes excluding time for delegate questions is agreed for each presentation

The delegation of Thailand makes its presentation proposing the city of Bangkok for the IFTMM Congress 2016. The delegates finally pose questions.

Afterwards it is the turn for the delegation of Australia to make its presentation proposing the city of Brisbane for the IFTMM Congress 2016. Similarly, the delegates finally pose several questions.

Before the final secret voting process, members of the two bid delegations are requested to momentaneously leave the room. Before voting, emphasis is given to the following additional aspects: Australia has followed the rule of keeping its bid since the previous IFTMM 2008 in South Korea, and Oceania is the only continent that has never organized an IFTM Congress, whereas the Thai candidature arrived later and Thailand already had the opportunity to organize an IFTM Congress, namely its 13th edition which was organized in Pattaya in 1992.

The final secret voting gives rise to 20 votes for Australia and 6 votes for Thailand. The next XIX IFTMM Congress will thus be organized by Australia in the city of Brisbane. The Thai delegation is congratulated for its excellent bid, and the Australian delegation is congratulated for its success and its representative M. Jones requested to prepare a short presentation for the Closing Ceremony of the present congress on Thursday at Room Gavea B at 12h 50'.

9.- Closing remarks

There are none and the meeting is closed at 20h 00'.

Rio de Janeiro, 25th September 2012 J.Y. Chai and S. Mas-Coma